Get Breaking News

Enter your email address to sign up.

Receive special offers from

Troop 807 members (from left) Daniel Jones, James Canterbury, Scott Simon and Seth
Perry take the Scout pledge.
Photo by Michael Hardy

Originally published: 2013-03-27 17:29:39
Last modified: 2013-03-27 17:29:39

Local Scouts achieve Eagle Scout ranks

Michael Hardy / (

“Once an Eagle, always an Eagle.” 

For those few who attain the distinct rank of Eagle Scouts, it is a lifetime honor. On Sunday, March 24, four exemplary local Boy Scouts – James Canterbury, Daniel Jones, Seth Perry and Scott Simon, members of the Mountaineer Patrol in Banner Elk – were pinned with their Eagle Scout insignia. 

The first Eagle Scout award was conferred in 1912 to a Scout in New York. Since then, more than two million young men have completed the necessary achievements to attain the honor. Each Scout, to attain the Eagle Award, must finish at least 21 merit badges, including First Aid, Personal Fitness, Citizenship in the World, Environmental Science and Emergency Preparedness. 

To read the complete story, please pick up a copy of your hometown newspaper, The Avery Journal-Times, available at almost 100 locations in Newland, Banner Elk, Crossnore, Spruce Pine and Roan Mountain, Tenn. To subscribe to The Avery Journal-Times, please call (828) 733-0401 or click to