Get Breaking News

Enter your email address to sign up.

Receive special offers from

Aldermen Tony Eller, Tommy Norman, Daniel Boone, Mike Smith and Joel Whitley are sworn in
to serve their respective two-year terms on Elk Park Board of Aldermen. Photo by Jamie Shell

Originally published: 2013-12-03 11:45:38
Last modified: 2013-12-03 23:40:05

Elk Park Aldermen sworn in, maintenance needs discussed

Jamie Shell / (

Elk Park Board of Aldermen members Daniel Boone, Tony Eller, Tommy Norman, Mike Smith and Joel Whitley were sworn into office following their recent election to serve on the board for the next two years. Town clerk Connie Guinn also took the oath of office to continue serving in her position. Norman was appointed Mayor Pro Tem, with Whitley agreeing to continue representing the town with High Country Council of Governments Region D. Eller was named finance officer and supervisor of police personnel, with Smith appointed to oversee maintenance staff members and Mayor Boone appointed to oversee utilities and office staff.

To read the complete story, please pick up a copy of your hometown newspaper, The Avery Journal-Times, available at almost 100 locations in Newland, Banner Elk, Crossnore, Spruce Pine and Roan Mountain, Tenn. To subscribe to The Avery Journal-Times, please call (828) 733-0401 or click to