Get Breaking News

Enter your email address to sign up.

Receive special offers from
Voters, mark your calendars

Oct. 12, 5 p.m.: Voter registration deadline for the General Election. Forms must be postmarked or delivered in person by 5 p.m. this day. Individuals who miss the registration deadline may register in person and then vote at one-stop voting sites in their county of residence during the one-stop absentee voting period (Thursday, Oct. 18, to Saturday, Nov. 3). In order to register during a one-stop period, the applicant must show proof of name and residence in the county. 

Oct. 18: One-stop absentee voting begins for the General Election. 

Oct. 30: Last day to request absentee ballots in writing.

Nov. 3: One-stop absentee voting ends.

Nov. 5, 5 p.m.: Deadline to request absentee ballots for sickness or disability. 

Nov. 5, 5 p.m.: Absentee ballots must be received in the Board of Elections office by 5 p.m. If mailed, returned absentee ballots will still be accepted if postmarked on or before Election Day, and received no later than 5 pm on Friday, Nov. 9.

Nov. 6: General Election Day. Polls are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.
Originally published: 2012-10-11 14:51:47
Last modified: 2012-10-11 15:00:37

General Election guide 2012

Matthew Hundley / (

On Tuesday, Nov. 6, Avery residents will join voters across the country as they cast their ballots to determine who will serve as the leader of the free world for the next four years. In addition to the presidential election, however, Avery citizens are faced with several other decisions on the county and state levels. 

In addition to the presidential race, the following state and local races will also appear on ballots in Avery County.

Avery County elections

Avery Board of County Commissioners: Three Republicans, Robert (Reo) Griffith, Martha Jaynes Hicks and Kenny Poteat, and one Democrat, Douglas Owen, are running for three open seats on the Board of County Commissioners. 

County Coroner: While John A. Millan will appear uncontested on the Nov. 6 ballot, Linda Webb announced earlier this year that she would run as a write-in candidate for the position of County Coroner.

County Register of Deeds: Renee Dellinger will appear unopposed on this year’s General Election ballot. State elections

U.S. House of Representatives, District 11, Hayden Rogers, Democrat, and Mark Meadows, Republican, are the two options that District 11 voters have to represent them in the House of Representatives in Washington D.C.

Governor: For the seat of Governor, Walter H. Dalton will represent the Democratic Party, Pat McRory will represent the Republican Party and Barbara Howe will run for the Libertarian Party. 

Lieutenant Governor: Dan Forest, Republican, and Linda D. Coleman, Democrat, will both appear on the ballot to contend for the seat of Lieutenant Governor.

N.C. State Senate, District 45: Two candidates, Dan Soucek, Republican, and Roy J. Carter, Democrat will vie for the right to represent the residents of N.C.’s 45th senate district.

N.C. House of Representatives, District 85: J.R. Edwards, Democrat, and Mitch Gillespie, Republican, are the two candidates seeking the representative seat to represent House District 85.

N.C. Superintendent of Public Instruction: June Atkinson, Democrat, and Ed Goodwin, Republican, will face off for the right to steer N.C.’s public schools.

Additional races: In addition to the races listed above, the following contests will also appear on the general election ballot in November: N.C. Attorney General, N.C. Auditor, N.C. Commissioner of Agriculture, N.C. Commissioner of Insurance, N.C. Commissioner of Labor, N.C. Secretary of State, N.C. Treasurer, N.C. Court of Appeals, N.C. and Supreme Court Associate Justice. For more information on these races, anyone can view a sample of the ballot they will see on Election Day by clicking to clicking on “My Election Information” and filling out the appropriate fields. 

Polling sites

Polling sites for each precinct are listed below. If you are not sure which precinct you are in, click to and click “My Polling Site” to enter your address and determine your precinct.Attention Elk Park voters: The polling location for Elk Park has changed! See the listing below for the new polling location

Crossnore Town Annex , 1 Fountain Circle, Crossnore

Banner Elk
Banner Elk Town Hall, 200 Park Avenue, Banner Elk

Beech Mountain
Beech Mountain Community Center, 60 Flat Springs Road, Elk Park

Carey’s Flat 
Carey’s Flat Community Center, 370 Shady Drive, Collettsville

Cranberrian Corporation, 5215 Elk Park Highway, Elk Park

Elk Park
Avery County Rescue Squad, 205 Ice Plant Street, Elk Park
Pleasant Hill Baptist Church, 425 N Highway 19E, Newland

Heaton Christian Church, 221 Curtis Creek Roadd, Elk Park

Chestnut Dale Baptist Church, 1700 Squirrel Creek Road, Newland

Green Valley Fire Hall, 8602 S Highway 19E, Spruce Pine

Linville Fire Department, 590 NC Highway 105, Newland

Minneapolis Baptist Church, 47 Minneapolis School Road, Newland

Aaron Baptist Church, 24 Aaron Church Lane, Montezuma

Newland #1
Morrison Library, 150 Library Place, Newland

Newland #2
Avery County Senior Center, 160 Shultz Circle, Newland

Land Harbor Recreation Complex, 22 Land Harbor Plaza, Pin

Riverside Elementary School, 8020 S Highway 19E, Newland

Pyatte Community Center, 141 Rodgers Ridge Road

Roaring Creek
Roaring Creek Freewill Baptist Church, 1736 Roaring Creek Road, Newland



Registration forms for this year’s general election must be postmarked or delivered in person by 5 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 12. Individuals who miss the registration deadline may register in person and then vote at one-stop voting sites in their county of residence during the one-stop absentee voting period (Thursday, Oct. 18, to Saturday, Nov. 3). In order to register during a one-stop period, the applicant must show proof of name and residence in the county.

Election Day

The first choice for many voters is the traditional visit to a local designated polling location on the day of voting, Tuesday, Nov. 6, between 6:30 a.m. and 7:30 p.m. 

One-Stop Early Voting

If Tuesday, Nov. 6, is going to be too busy to make it too the polls, a second option is One-Stop Early Voting, which can be carried out at Avery County Board of Elections in the courthouse beginning Thursday, Oct. 18, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, and Saturday, Nov.3, from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.


A third option for those who may be out of the area during voting is an absentee ballot, which can currently be acquired from Avery County Board of Elections. Absentee ballots can be requested by mail or fax with a signature, or by visiting Avery County Board of Elections. Curbside

On voting day, curbside voting will be provided for those who have physical limitations that prevent them from visiting their voting site or entering the courthouse. Individuals wishing to take advantage of this service on elections day should drive to the courthouse during One-Stop Early Voting, where signs will direct traffic to the curbside location, or to their polling site, where staff from Avery Board of Elections will bring a ballot out to waiting voters.

For more information on voting in Avery County, call Avery County Board of Elections at (828) 733-8282.