Get Breaking News

Enter your email address to sign up.

Receive special offers from

Avery Middle School Principal Ricky Ward presents Robin Austin Scholar-Athlete Awards to Kara
Polsgrove and Jordan Lecka during last week's athletic awards ceremony. Photo by Jamie Shell

Originally published: 2013-06-05 14:15:41
Last modified: 2013-06-05 14:16:26

Avery Middle School recognizes student-athletes at annual athletics banquet

Jamie Shell / (

Avery Middle School honored its student-athletes with its annual athletic awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 28, at the school's cafeteria.

The following individuals received awards at the banquet, listed by sport and award won in parentheses:

Baseball: Jackson Presnell (Coach's Award), Nick Mongold (Most Improved), D.C. Braswell (Offensive MVP) and Brett Smith (Defensive MVP)

To read the complete story, please pick up a copy of your hometown newspaper, The Avery Journal-Times, available at almost 100 locations in Newland, Banner Elk, Crossnore, Spruce Pine and Roan Mountain, Tenn. To subscribe to The Avery Journal-Times, please call (828) 733-0401 or click to